Studio Weekly projects

Color theory: Colors-Coca-Cola

 

The traditional color wheel is a useful way of primary colors arranged and facilitates any space or decorating project charting.

There are three basic color categories: During this session we looked at various examples of them.

The main colors consists of red, yellow and blue. This is the main components of which are created all the other colors.

Secondary colors are orange, purple and green. Each of these colors is created by combining two primary colors. Red and yellow consist of orange, blue and red – violet, blue and yellow – green.

Tertiary colors are obtained by mixing primary colors with secondary or mixing two secondary colors with each other. Eg., Greenish yellow (yellow and green) or magenta (purple and red).

So at the beginning of this session we had to draw a circle and paint it in red color as Coca-Cola can. The final outcome of all class was very different some of them was pretty dark or light red. The moral of this exercise is If one says “Red” (the name of a color)
And there are 50 people listening,It can be expected that there will be 50 reds in their minds.
And one can be sure that all these reds will be very different.

 

Surreal Story of design: 05.19.2017 Frottage

 

On this lesion when were given  a simple task and few words. Using given words we had to find the most suitable texture and transfer it onto the paper.

Balance, Proximity, Alignment, Repetition, contrast, white space. When all these  drawings were done we had to mix it with other people drawings and take it 6 drawings of different people. Here we came up with the second part of this session. We had to draw objects onto textured drawings, buildings stairs etc. here I tried to use shapes of colors  by creating them in to the buildings, stairs and more. Later on we had to draw a character for each word. It was difficult to draw something on the other texture marks.  That’s why my object was not really linked with objects drawings. Here I tried to imagine a situation or character which would be describe given words. But I did not had any context for those character. They were not related with the objects or each other. Here I did used a charcoal which I never used before.

Speaking about crit. Day it was difficult to speak about the outcome…which not really has the context behind.

Observation studies :matchbox Week workshop

For this session we had to prepare a matchbox with some small items in it  for example; pin, string, needle etc. As we had to put everything in to the box I decided to do opposite. Let’s say just think outside the box where in result I placed my items onto the white paper.  Soon  we were ready to start  this session we started to observe and record all the different textures of the objects in our matchbox.

For that we created a template and filled with textures which I did found on my objects. In some of the boxes I drew an object or part of item with a reason to represent my textures more successfully. But one of the tutors did not liked my idea of chosen purple paper and textures representations. In his opinion it is not texture even within of the objects there was texture….  I redone my texture boxes . After we finished with textures we had to put those textures in the other boxes with geometrical figures. When everything was done we had to draw 5 A5 size drawings with objects from our “match boxes” – I would call it objects from my pocket. The drawing process was difficult and hard to me as I never done Life still drawing before.

Next day we had to draw one more A5 size drawing. For this one I quickly drew a phone.  The time spent for this drawing was just warming up before we started working on huge sheets of lining paper. Here we had to choose one of our drawing and enlarge it onto the lining paper. For that I made a grid of  4×2 boxes which helped me enlarge my image. To be honest I did not enjoyed this session and my drawings looked like I did not put a lot of effort. Why?  Because I am not familiar with this discipline and it hard to draw a accurate drawing of object from real life not from my head.

British Museum

This workshop was really fun to me. We had to visit a British Museum and make more than 100 drawings. For the first part of this project I had to draw 50x objects as well as draw them I had to write down some information about them. Who made it, when it was etc.

For the next part I had to draw 50x people- as well as drawing the people I had to invent the following for each person I draw. What’s their name, Where do they live? What characteristic from the following list would I apply to them?

Adventurous, Aggressive, Ambitious, Assertive, Cautious, Cheerful, Creative, Curious, Dedicated, Dependable, Determined, Discreet, Effective, Energetic, Enterprising, Enthusiastic, Extroverted, Firm, Friendly, Generous, Genuine, Honest, Impulsive Independent, Insightful, Intellectual, Judicious, Keen, KindLoyal, Nonconforming, Observant, Orderly, Outgoing, Patient, Persistent, Pleasant, Positive, practical, Precise, Receptive, Reserved, Resilient, Resourceful, Responsible, Self-con, dent Self-controlled, Sensitive, Sharp.

During my visit British Museum I tried to draw much as possible. I could not manage to draw  50x each because that day this museum was super crowdie and people were pushing each other with reason to see exhibited objects. It was difficult to concentrate and draw calmly. But anyway I think would be enough those sketches which I managed to produce.

For the  3 part of this short brief I had to use only these drawings and written information for the last outcome.

1 – Protagonist – The protagonist is the central person or object in a

story, and is often referred to as the story’s main character. She, he

(or they) is faced with a dif culty that must be resolved. The

protagonist may not always be admirable (e.g. an anti-hero);

nevertheless s/he must command involvement on the part of the

viewer, or better yet, empathy.

2 – Antagonist – The antagonist is the character(s) (or situation) that

represents the opposition against which the protagonist must contend. In other words, the antagonist is an obstacle that the protagonist must overcome.

3 – Your story can be as abstract as you wish, and any character can be symbolic of something else. A symbolic character is any character or object whose very existence represents some major idea or aspect of society.

Option 2 – Reportage / Documentary / Editorial

Make a minimum of 4 drawings that in some way communicate why

people visit the British Museum for Monocle Magazine.

I had chose Option 1 And drew this short narrative of 4  drawings.

Juke box Jive

For this project we received a brief from a client which is a publisher who is about to launch a new zine onto the market, entitled “Back in the Dayz”.

A regular feature of the zine is a competition in the form of an illustrated story: Juke box Jive. The subject matter of the story board is a visual interpretation of the lyrics of a song from the past. Here is my task to make a story board from the playlist presented to meet the criteria set by the client.

Clients criteria:

Text should be kept to a minimum.

We got a layout of 9 boxes, a minimum of 6 or maximum  of 9 boxes must be used.

A minimum of 3 colors.

For the first task I had to select a 36 songs from the list which I was given. Then I had to listen  for at least couple of times all of my choices.  For research purpose I had to find all lyrics of my songs as well.

Second task of this project was to chose the only one song out of 3 which would be the final song for a visual interpretation.

When I did chose my last song I began to do sketches into my sketchbook. Here I was using soft pencils.

Later on I developed my ideas by adding black outlines and colors.

My chosen song was The Clash – London Calling

This song was not the easiest song to interpret for me and I spend loads of time by sketching ideas, thinking about the layout etc. At the beginning I planned to illustrate only few sentences from a song. I wanted to make my illustrations readable and understandable and directly linked to the song. As I faced many troubles finding ways to represent my ideas as a illustration I was considering to start new sketches but more abstract way. But after I was finished with few sketches I decided to stick with one idea. Here I used  Big Ben tower as a one of the main details of my illustrations. I am not born here in UK so when I am thinking about London the first thing which comes to my head is Big Ben tower. Also as a first object shown in the official video clip of that song is actual Big Ben tower. The second Obvious thing which is related with calling is a phone. So here I tried to combine Big Ben and phone in case to create an illustration which would fit the song. I ended up creating 6 variations of my ideas.

Leave a Reply

